We challenge The Myths
wind energy proposals at Maer Hills - embrace the revolution
 
Home
Turbine Pictures
Why Maer Hills?
NIMBY Bollox
Wind Turbine FAQ
Claymoss = PR Disaster
Reasons for Refusal?
Why we need them
Links and references
Councillors
Why are we doing this?
 
Please contact us to let us know that you support what we are doing - and tell your friends!

maerhills@hotmail.co.uk

 
 
NIMBYism in the UK
"With pressure on ageing energy and transport infrastructures mounting, is it time to put projects of national importance ahead of local concerns?"

Hosted by the Royal Geographical Society - 3 March 2010

Biodiesel lawyer 360 feedback for lawyers

 

Are you in the silent majority?

Politicians are there to represent the views of the people who elected them. So if it appears that a community totally opposes a planning development, local councillors may well see it as their job to represent that view and work to have the application turned down.

The problem is when a vocal minority creates the impression of mass objection when in reality most people are supportive. How can this happen? Well objectors object – they make themselves heard – loudly and constantly. Supporters on the other hand tend to be silent.

As a consequence vocal minority groups often have a disproportionate influence on planning decisions. And this can cause delay and be very costly not just for the developer but also the local planning authority.

Ironically the increased local authority costs are paid for by the people who elect the politicians – local community members. For the democratic process to work properly it is vitally important that politicians at all levels understand the views of the wider community and not just those of a vocal minority.

Name Telephone email    
Sandra Hambleton 01782 624919  Sandra.Hambleton@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
John Tatton 01782 613654 John.Tatton@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
John Evans 01782 771830 John.Evans@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Mavis Lench 01782 771527 Mavis.Lench@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
John MacMillan 01782 772671 John.MacMillan@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Sheila  Phillips 01782 561582 Sheila.Phillips@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Ann Heames 01782 617093 Ann.Heames@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Stephen Sweeney 01782 661430 Stephen.Sweeney@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Sylvia  Butler 01782 633412 Sylvia.Butler@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Gillian Williams 01782  639657 Gillian.Williams@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
John Williams 01782  639657 John.Williams@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Victor Finnemore 01782 564843 Victor.Finnemore@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
William Simpson 01782 564483 William.Simpson@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Martin  Bentley 01782 773009 Martin.Bentley@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Richard Gorton 01782 614864 Richard.Gorton@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
David Leech 01782 619490 David.Leech@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Colin Ince 01630 620234 Colin.Ince@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Philip Maskery 01782 680696 Philip.Maskery@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Freda Myatt 01782 610049 Freda.Myatt@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Ashley Howells 07717 660404 Ashley.Howells@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Bill Sinnott 01782 751719 Bill.Sinnott@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Stephen  Holland 07717 738779 Stephen.Holland@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Ian Matthews 07981 171234 Ian.Matthews@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Eddie Chrzanowski 01782 771705 Eddie.Chrzanowski@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Nora Salt 01782 782473 Nora.Salt@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
John Cooper 07981 867783 John.Cooper@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Julie Cooper 07900 633940 Julie.Cooper@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Ray Astle 01782 776236 Ray.Astle@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Gillian Burnett 01782 775463 Gillian.Burnett@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Andrew Fear 01782 627201 Andrew.Fear@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Peter Hailstones 01782 566509 Peter.Hailstones@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Peter Whieldon 07713 923525 Peter.Whieldon@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Elaine Blake 01782 713981 Elaine.Blake@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Eileen Braithwaite 01782 623095 Eileen.Braithwaite@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Arthur Amos 01782 782193 Arthur.Amos@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Mary Moss 01782 618503 Mary.Moss@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Mick Clarke 01782 626561 Mick.Clarke@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Michael Foy 01782 625653 Michael.Foy@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Mark Olsewski 01782 638086 Mark.Olsewski@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Simon Tagg 07768 440380 Simon.Tagg@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Glennis Deakin 01782 611559 Glennis.Deakin@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Jeremy Lefroy 01782 661383 Jeremy.Lefroy@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    

 

Name Telephone email    
Edward Boden 01782 722248 Edward.Boden@staffordshire.gov.uk    
John  Taylor 01782 786227 John.Taylor@staffordshire.gov.uk    
Robert Edwards 01782 720259 Robert.Edwards@staffordshire.gov.uk    
Richard Gorton 01782 614864 Richard.Gorton@staffordshire.gov.uk    

 

Name Telephone email    
Dylis Cornes 01782 720289 Dylis.Cornes@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Ian Wilkes 01782 722343  Ian.Wilkes@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Andrew Cooley 01782 560591 Andrew.Cooley@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Olwyn Speed 01782 720370 Olwyn.Speed@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Wenslie Naylon 01782 627243 Wenslie.Naylon@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Raymond Slater 01782 773871 Raymond.Slater@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Nigel Jones 01782 632895 Nigel.Jones@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Marion Reddish 01782 613265 Marion.Reddish@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Julie Walklate 01782 740554 Julie.Walklate@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
David Clarke 01782 639955 David.Clarke@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Elizabeth Shenton 01782 740276 Elizabeth.Shenton@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
Robin Studd 01782 626372 Robin.Studd@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    
David Becket 01270 820474 David.Becket@newcastlelibdems.co.uk    

 

Name Telephone email    
Sandra Hambleton 01782 624919  Sandra.Hambleton@newcastle-staffs.gov.uk    
Mel Lewis 01782 720506 melicha.lewis@woodlands.co.uk    
Trevor Hambleton 01782 624919  tresand@tshamleton.freeserve.co.uk    
Michael Dolman 01782 563672 michaeldolman@aol.com    
Margaret Astle 01782 776236 kidsgrove-info.co.uk    
Mary Maxfield 01782 784335 mbmaxfield@tesco.net    

 

Maer Hills Action Group

set up by local people in response to the proposal to build an Evolution Leisure Village

Sponsored by Appraisal360 360 degree feedback systems